Movie News: Reviews

5

Review: 'The Amazing Spider-Man 2' Starring Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone, Jamie Foxx & Dane DeHaan

fb.indiewire.com – As far as superhero reboots go, "room for improvement" was probably the best way to sum up 2012's "The Amazing Spider-Man." Certainly financially, the film made a very healthy $750 million worldwide, but that's still less than any of the three Sam Raimi films that preceded it. And creatively, the film had some strong building blocks — an increased emphasis on romance, a hugely appealing central pairing in Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone (plus support from ringers like Sally Field and Martin Sheen), a bright sense of humor, a fresh-ish take on the characters 3 years 40 weeks ago via brucelee
0

Critics Consensus: Captain America: The Winter Soldier is Certified Fresh

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got just one new wide release: Captain America: The Winter Soldier, starring Chris Evans, Samuel L. Jackson, and Scarlett Johansson in the latest Marvel superhero adventure. What do the critics have to say? 3 years 41 weeks ago via donnieyen
0

Critics Consensus: Noah is a Fresh Take on an Old Tale

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got an Ark builder (Noah, starring Russell Crowe and Jennifer Connelly); an elite DEA agent (Sabotage, starring Arnold Schwarzenegger and Sam Worthington); a labor leader (Cesar Chavez, starring Michael Peña and John Malkovich); a full-service concierge (The Grand Budapest Hotel, starring Ralph Fiennes and Saoirse Ronan); and a grown-up spelling bee champ (Bad Words, starring Jason Bateman and Kathryn Hahn).

3 years 42 weeks ago via jackiechan
5

Movie Review: Pain Abounds in Lars von Trier’s ‘Nymphomaniac’ (Surprised?)

rss.nytimes.com – In “Nymphomaniac: Volume I,” directed by Lars von Trier, Charlotte Gainsburg plays a woman who endures suffering in the pursuit of sex. 3 years 43 weeks ago via jackiechan
0

Critics Consensus: Divergent Disappoints

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got individuality under attack (Divergent, starring Shailene Woodley and Kate Winslet) and supportive mothers (Muppets Most Wanted, starring Ricky Gervais and Tina Fey). What do the critics have to say? 3 years 43 weeks ago via theothersenhman
0

Critics Consensus: Need for Speed is Busted

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got fast cars (Need For Speed, starring Aaron Paul and Imogen Poots) and supportive mothers (The Single Moms Club, starring Nia Long and Amy Smart). What do the critics have to say? 3 years 44 weeks ago via brucelee
0

Critics Consensus: Mr. Peabody & Sherman is a Blast From the Past

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got a dog and his boy (Mr. Peabody & Sherman, with voice performances by Ty Burrell and Stephen Colbert) and some raging Spartans (300: Rise of an Empire, starring Sullivan Stapleton and Eva Green). What do the critics have to say? 3 years 45 weeks ago via brucelee
5

Film Review: ‘Kiki’s Delivery Service’

variety.com – A charmless, leaden live-action adaptation of the story that inspired Hayao Miyazaki's enchanting 1989 anime. 3 years 46 weeks ago via jackiechan
0

Critics Consensus: Non-Stop is a Bumpy Ride

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got a turbulent flight (Non-Stop, starring Liam Neeson and Julianne Moore) and the greatest story ever told (Son of God, starring Diogo Morgado and Greg Hicks). What do the critics have to say? 3 years 46 weeks ago via brucelee
0

Critics Consensus: 3 Days to Kill Misses the Mark

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got an ailing spy (3 Days to Kill, starring Kevin Costner and Hailee Steinfeld) and a gladiator in love (Pompeii, starring Kit Harington and Emily Browning). What do the critics have to say? 3 years 47 weeks ago via brucelee
0

Critics Consensus: The Lego Movie Is Certified Fresh

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got little plastic people (The Lego Movie, with voice performances from Chris Pratt and Elizabeth Banks), art adventurers (The Monuments Men, starring George Clooney and Matt Damon), and fanged teenagers (Vampire Academy, starring Zoey Deutch 3 years 49 weeks ago via jackiechan
0

Critics Consensus: That Awkward Moment When Your Movie is Rotten

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got three single bros (That Awkward Moment, starring Zac Efron and Michael B. Jordan) and a family-oriented fugitive (Labor Day, starring Josh Brolin and Kate Winslet). What do the critics have to say? 3 years 50 weeks ago via theothersenhman
0

Critics Consensus: Guess I, Frankenstein's Tomatometer

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got only one new wide release: the dark fantasy adventure I, Frankenstein, starring Aaron Eckhart and Bill Nighy. What do the critics have to say? 3 years 51 weeks ago via brucelee
0

Critics Consensus: Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit Is a Solid Thriller

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got a super spy (Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit, starring Chris Pine and Keira Knightley), some burglarizing rodents (The Nut Job, with voice performances by Will Arnett and Katherine Heigl), mismatched cops (Ride Along, starring Ice Cube a 4 years 1 day ago via donnieyen
Subscribe to this RSS topic: Syndicate content