Movie News: Reviews

0

Critics Consensus: Transcendence is a Sci-Fi Snooze

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got a techno-dystopia (Transcendence, starring Johnny Depp and Rebecca Hall), a near-death experience (Heaven Is For Real, starring Greg Kinnear and Connor Corum), a bunch of furry carnivores (the nature documentary Bears), and some supernatural high jinks ( 6 days 17 hours ago via brucelee
0

Critics Consensus: Rio 2 Fails to Take Flight

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got Brazilian birds (Rio 2, with voice performances by Anne Hathaway and Jesse Eisenberg), a pigskin professional (Draft Day, starring Kevin Costner and Jennifer Garner), and a malevolent mirror (Oculus, starring Katee Sackhoff and 1 week 6 days ago via brucelee
5

Review: 'The Amazing Spider-Man 2' Starring Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone, Jamie Foxx & Dane DeHaan

fb.indiewire.com – As far as superhero reboots go, "room for improvement" was probably the best way to sum up 2012's "The Amazing Spider-Man." Certainly financially, the film made a very healthy $750 million worldwide, but that's still less than any of the three Sam Raimi films that preceded it. And creatively, the film had some strong building blocks — an increased emphasis on romance, a hugely appealing central pairing in Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone (plus support from ringers like Sally Field and Martin Sheen), a bright sense of humor, a fresh-ish take on the characters 2 weeks 1 day ago via brucelee
0

Critics Consensus: Captain America: The Winter Soldier is Certified Fresh

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got just one new wide release: Captain America: The Winter Soldier, starring Chris Evans, Samuel L. Jackson, and Scarlett Johansson in the latest Marvel superhero adventure. What do the critics have to say? 2 weeks 6 days ago via donnieyen
0

Critics Consensus: Noah is a Fresh Take on an Old Tale

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got an Ark builder (Noah, starring Russell Crowe and Jennifer Connelly); an elite DEA agent (Sabotage, starring Arnold Schwarzenegger and Sam Worthington); a labor leader (Cesar Chavez, starring Michael Peña and John Malkovich); a full-service concierge (The Grand Budapest Hotel, starring Ralph Fiennes and Saoirse Ronan); and a grown-up spelling bee champ (Bad Words, starring Jason Bateman and Kathryn Hahn).

3 weeks 6 days ago via jackiechan
5

Movie Review: Pain Abounds in Lars von Trier’s ‘Nymphomaniac’ (Surprised?)

rss.nytimes.com – In “Nymphomaniac: Volume I,” directed by Lars von Trier, Charlotte Gainsburg plays a woman who endures suffering in the pursuit of sex. 4 weeks 6 days ago via jackiechan
0

Critics Consensus: Divergent Disappoints

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got individuality under attack (Divergent, starring Shailene Woodley and Kate Winslet) and supportive mothers (Muppets Most Wanted, starring Ricky Gervais and Tina Fey). What do the critics have to say? 4 weeks 6 days ago via theothersenhman
0

Critics Consensus: Need for Speed is Busted

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got fast cars (Need For Speed, starring Aaron Paul and Imogen Poots) and supportive mothers (The Single Moms Club, starring Nia Long and Amy Smart). What do the critics have to say? 5 weeks 6 days ago via brucelee
0

Critics Consensus: Mr. Peabody & Sherman is a Blast From the Past

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got a dog and his boy (Mr. Peabody & Sherman, with voice performances by Ty Burrell and Stephen Colbert) and some raging Spartans (300: Rise of an Empire, starring Sullivan Stapleton and Eva Green). What do the critics have to say? 6 weeks 6 days ago via brucelee
5

Film Review: ‘Kiki’s Delivery Service’

variety.com – A charmless, leaden live-action adaptation of the story that inspired Hayao Miyazaki's enchanting 1989 anime. 7 weeks 5 days ago via jackiechan
0

Critics Consensus: Non-Stop is a Bumpy Ride

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got a turbulent flight (Non-Stop, starring Liam Neeson and Julianne Moore) and the greatest story ever told (Son of God, starring Diogo Morgado and Greg Hicks). What do the critics have to say? 7 weeks 6 days ago via brucelee
0

Critics Consensus: 3 Days to Kill Misses the Mark

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got an ailing spy (3 Days to Kill, starring Kevin Costner and Hailee Steinfeld) and a gladiator in love (Pompeii, starring Kit Harington and Emily Browning). What do the critics have to say? 8 weeks 6 days ago via brucelee
0

Critics Consensus: The Lego Movie Is Certified Fresh

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got little plastic people (The Lego Movie, with voice performances from Chris Pratt and Elizabeth Banks), art adventurers (The Monuments Men, starring George Clooney and Matt Damon), and fanged teenagers (Vampire Academy, starring Zoey Deutch 10 weeks 6 days ago via jackiechan
0

Critics Consensus: That Awkward Moment When Your Movie is Rotten

rottentomatoes.com – This week at the movies, we've got three single bros (That Awkward Moment, starring Zac Efron and Michael B. Jordan) and a family-oriented fugitive (Labor Day, starring Josh Brolin and Kate Winslet). What do the critics have to say? 11 weeks 6 days ago via theothersenhman
Subscribe to this RSS topic: Syndicate content